Keep Scrolling

As coaches, our goal is for our student-athletes to learn and enjoy the game of football.

Our work as a team is accomplished through regimented instruction, strength and conditioning training, and teaching the rules and fundamentals of the game. Our team is rooted in the values of sportsmanship, accountability, determination, and friendship.

By placing others above self and working towards common goals, student-athletes will learn to succeed in a challenging and supportive environment.

Cate 8-Man Football Tradition

  • CIF Semifinalist 2007, 2015
  • 13 Straight Playoff Appearances
  • League Championships 2007,2009, 2011, 2013, 2015, 2018

2021 Record:

  • 10-1 Overall
  • CIF-SS Division I 8-Man Quarterfinals
  • 2021 CIF Champions

2021 All-CIF Players:

  • Div. 1 MVP— Will Bouma ‘22
  • Div. 1 Offensive Player of the Year— Mason Oetgen ‘22
  • First Team— Ethan Ligon ‘22, Matty Holmes ‘22, Kristian Scurtis ‘24
  • Second Team— Jack Whelan ‘23, Charlie Patel ‘23


Ben Soto
Varsity Head Coach

Wade Ransom
Varsity Assistant Coach

Craig Bouma
 Varsity Assistant Coach

Juarez Newsome
Varsity Assistant Coach

Mel Deaile
 Varsity Assistant Coach

David Soto ’08
 Junior Varsity Co-Head Coach

Randy Person ’10
 Junior Varsity Co-Head Coach



Day Date Opponent Location Time Results
Fri2-SepFlintridge Preparatory SchoolAway6:00 PM(L) 26 - 40
Sat17-SepLeadership Military AcademyHome2:00 PM(W) 34 - 28
Sat24-SepSanta Clara High SchoolHome2:00 PM(W) 65 - 14
Fri30-SepThacher SchoolHome6:00 PM(L) 27 - 36
Sat8-OctChadwick SchoolAway2:00 PM(L) 32 - 38
Fri14-OctFaith BaptistAway6:30 PM(L) 7 - 45
Sat22-OctThacher SchoolHome2:00 PM

Junior Varsity

Day Date Opponent Location Time Results
Tue4-OctFaith BaptistAway4:30 PM
Tue25-OctThacher SchoolHome4:00 PM



Abdul-Hakim, Muhsin Martinez, Tyler
Asuamah, Zaqary Mast, Cody
Barrera, Mike Newlove, Nathan
Blanco, Felipe Nieman, Mack
Bouma, Henry Park, Kyle
Brooks, Curtis Patel, Charles
Coulter, Zachary Rehnborg, Ethan
Foster, John Rissel, David
Foster, Mary Rosenthal, Crosby
Gabbay, Jacob Samson, Oluwajoba
Higgins, Jack Scurtis, Kristian
Huiner, Nico Thorne, Quincy
Lee, Dongyun Daniel Valente, Riley
Livingston, Oscar Whelan, Jack

Junior Varsity

Ashiku, Luke Marin, George
Barry, Kiyan Meyer, Christian
Bonsignore, Hudson Mitchell, Grant
Butler, Joshua Mogensen, Brady
Casbarro, Noah Parker, Braeden
Charvel, Oliver Pullen, Quinn
Clinger, Graham Scudder, Marcus
Crayton, Barron Shiraishi, Anthony
Dorion, Charles